Arnold Sommerfeld Center

Breadcrumb Navigation


Theory Colloquium: Unraveling Turbulence: Modern Viewpoints On An Unsolved Problem

Professor Yaron Oz (Tel Aviv University)

03.05.2023 at 16:15 



Fluid turbulence is a major unsolved problem of physics exhibiting an emergent complex structure from simple rules. We will briefly review the problem and discuss three avenues towards its solution: field theory, holography and machine learning.

Short Biography:

Professor Yaron Oz is the incumbent of the Yuval Neeman Chair of Physics and the Director of the Center for Quantum Science and Technology at Tel Aviv University.

His research is spanned over a wide range of topics in Quantum Field Theory, Gravity and Strings, to which he made numerous outstanding contributions. These include the holographic relation between quantum field theories and string theories, black hole hydrodynamics, conformal field theories, fluid turbulence and quantum information.

Yaron Oz has been a research associate at UC Berkeley, a Staff Member at CERN and he joined Tel Aviv university as a professor of theoretical physics in 2001.

He served as the Head of the School of Physics and Astronomy (2004-2011), the Dean of the Faculty for Exact Sciences (2011-2015) and the Rector of Tel-Aviv university (2015-2020). He was the President of the Israel Physical Society (2015-2016) and is currently the Head of the National Committee of Pure and Applied Sciences of the National Academy of Sciences, a member of the National Committee of High Energy Physics and the Director of the international Journal for High Energy Physics (JHEP). Yaron Oz has been a Research Visiting Professor at the Institute for Advanced Study in Princeton, the Simons Center for Geometry and Physics at Stony Brook, the College de France and at numerous other research institutions. He is a recipient of the Alexander von Humboldt Award (2015), an External Director of the Max Planck Institute for Gravitational Physics (Albert Einstein Institute in Potsdam and Hannover) and a member of the Max Planck Society.


Room A348 - Faculty of Physics - LMU - Theresienstr. 37, 80333 München